Tags

August is nearly gone and the end of summer is fast approaching in the Northern Hemisphere (though you’d never know it based on the weather in some places). Has the season been kind to your TBR pile?

Summer (and August in particular) turned out to be busier for me than I anticipated. I had a new house to unpack, several editing projects to tackle, and more responsibility at the day job. I haven’t actually read a book the whole month!

But during quite moments at the office I have been continuing to listen to Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon. I read the book (and indeed, the whole series save #8) in paper form several years ago, so it isn’t a new story for me. But listening is a completely different experience for me than reading, and Davina Porter is a wonderful narrator. She manages the Gaelic and French phrases so much better than my eyes can, plus she handles the various accents as though she used them every day (though I will admit her American accent is a tad off). I can only manage to sound Canadian or slightly Celtic when I’m tired 😉

audio-book

