Tags

Giuseppe_Maria_Crespi_-_Bookshelves_-_WGA05755

As Bing Crosby once sang, let’s start the new year right! It’s time once again to set the stage for our TBR Challenge.

This is the third year now for the Challenge, and I’ve discovered that it really has made me more aware of the books I purchased ages ago and have yet to read. It hasn’t stopped me from adding books to the fray, though! One of these days I’ll figure out how to address that 🙂

Here are my conditions for this year:

1. How many books from your TBR pile will you read? I’m going with 18 again this year, since I didn’t quite make it last year. That’s 1.5 books per month, which I should be able to manage even after allowing for writing and editing time, and other reading challenges I’ll be participating in.

2. How long have your books been waiting? For the purposes of this challenge, the books I read must have been acquired by me or placed on my library TBR list (which is still out of hand) before August 1, 2015. This means I can’t buy new books in January and count them toward my TBR Challenge come September–which I found myself doing at least once during the first year, and kind of defeats the purpose of the challenge.

3. How will you hold yourself accountable? Like years past, I’ll post here once a month to share my progress and see how you all are doing. I found that creating a Goodreads shelf and the dedicated page on this blog to be enormously helpful, too, so I’ll do both again. I’m a very visual person and being able to see the collection of books that I’ve read gives me a nice sense of accomplishment, which makes me want to read more TBR books.

So who’s in this year? I know I’m not the only one with a TBR mountain…range 😉 Leave a comment with your goal and conditions–how many books will you tame this year?

