Halloween is almost here, fellow readers! How scary is is your TBR pile right now?

I’ve fallen into the pattern (again!) of buying books faster than I can read them, so overall my TBR bins and collections are worse than when I started the challenge in boleyn-king-coverJanuary. But I have managed to read thirteen TBR books so far out of the eighteen I set as my goal.

I dove into The Boleyn King earlier this month, which has been waiting on my Kindle for a couple of years. It’s an alternate history novel, telling the story of what might have happened had Anne Boleyn not miscarried the baby boy she conceived after Elizabeth I was born. I won’t spoil it, but it’s a lot of fun (even if you aren’t a scholar of Tudor history), well thought out, and easy to read.

The rest of the books I’ve read (or am in the process of reading) this month are all new-ish, so they don’t count toward my TBR goal. But I’m trying to keep books from the year-or-more-since-I-bought-it pile, too, and it’s nice to buy a book and read it fairly soon (for a change). Maybe we should start a non-TBR challenge next year πŸ™‚

